Grave New World

Lauren Donker

Blog 2: Writing for DEADlines

Over the course of ANTHROP 710 and 714, with Dr. Cannon and Dr. Carter, respectively, I developed an area of interest pertaining to alternate sets of behavioral rules present within historical cemeteries. This began when I reread Cannon (1989) which argues that individuals in lower social-strata strive to emulate the elite. Simultaneously, the elite endeavor to differentiate themselves from the lower social strata. This produces observable patterns in historical cemeteries. Across decades, the bourgeoisie establish new fads and fashions for gravestones, which the lower social strata emulate. Once the lower classes successfully replicate the style of the elite, the style falls out of fashion and something new takes its place. Although the evidence for this cyclical process is strong, the process must be more complex and varying than Cannon (1989) indicates.

This led me to occupational identity. My camera roll is rampant with interesting examples of individuals, both across time and space, electing to display their occupational identity on their grave monuments. Though whether the choice to display the deceased’s job was made by the deceased or the bereaved is largely unknowable, it is evident that many felt it was an integral part of the deceased’s identity and should be a part of their memorial. It is an understudied area within historical cemetery research and one with untapped potential.

I noticed that many displays of occupational identity were what one might colloquially refer to as ‘blue-collar’ jobs. Blue-collar jobs can be characterized as working, middle-class occupations, often involving manual labour. They are decidedly not bourgeoise and yet, they are apparent on many monuments. This indicates that monumental display in cemeteries is not entirely dictated by middle-class individuals attempting to represent themselves as upper-class. Rather, these individuals were content to be memorialized as middle-class, indicating that they acted according to an alternate set of behavioral rules and beliefs. They chose the road death travelled, if you will.

This topic excites me and warrants further exploration. Such an undertaking would enable scholars to move away from the long-standing focus on elite memorials and highlight the complexity of historical cemeteries, as well as the individuals buried within them. To accomplish this, the paper I wrote for Dr. Carter needs some work, but I believe the data is there to support what I have suggested above.

My first task will be to reflect on the role’s fraternal organizations may have had in monument selection, as this was not well considered in my first draft. During the 19th century and into the 20th century, fraternal organizations were enormously popular because they provided insurance. If an individual died on the job, his fraternal organization would typically cover funerary costs. I noted several examples of the Brotherhood of Railway Locomotives and Engineers erecting monuments on behalf of railway employees. This led to many blue-collar workers’ monuments being erected by their fraternal organization, likely impacting the choice of monument and symbolism found on it. I intend to accomplish this before reading week. The deadline I have set for myself is February 16.

Over the course of my reading week, I intend to research journals. I have ideas about where I would like to submit this piece, but it requires further research. This will allow me to reflect on how to best tailor my paper to the desired journal.

My next task will be to more effectively theorize about blue-collar workers. What is a blue-collar worker exactly? How do we define it? How can we draw a line between blue- and white-collar workers? I intend to accomplish this by April 1. Can I refer to this task as cem(etery)antics?

This leaves the remaining time (until April 15th) to let it rest for at least a few days before I begin the process of editing, which involves rereading, reorganizing and asking others to proofread my work.

Below are examples of fraternal symbols on White Bronze Monuments

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started